June   14 comments


It seems like I’ve been out of town for an entire month, but it’s only been 30 days. I spent most of those days in Troy Michigan for work, with one short trip to Vegas, also for work. I did find time to explore a little, both solo and with friends though, so I thought I’d share some of what I saw with all of you.

All photos were taken by RoughWaterJohn, using my Pirate cell phone.

There was a nice park near my hotel with lots of trees. I visited it a few times in the early morning as the sun was rising. This is where I started, civilization is not allowed, for here be Dragons

The rising sun does wonders to the color green.

There are paths through this park, but I spent very little time on them. I did occasionally take pictures of the paths, as I crossed from forest to forest.

Some paths were smaller than others.

You missed the rabbit by “that” much.

There was a little brook that babbled at me as I walked by, but I didn’t understand the lingo.

Sometimes, it’s nice to look down to look up.

Is it a tree or a shadow, if you look away, will it change?

If you can find the right spot among the light and verdure, the sun can show you amazing things.

I took a short trip to Las Vegas, before returning to Michigan. My first Pirate tea in Vegas.

The room wasn’t bad either.

If my room had a slide-out diving board, I wouldn’t have had to fight the crowds in the elevator to get to the pool.

Dawn in Las Vegas, 100 degrees by 9:00AM.

I visited Ann Arbor Michigan one weekend. Downtown was very nice.

This is why you don’t let committees determine paint schemes.

I like blue doors, but red isn’t a bad choice.

There are rewards for raising your eyes above the sidewalk.

I could have been an architect, I built one of these with blocks as a kid.

Was I the only one who stopped to look at this? Apparently so.

We stopped in a bar to have a cool drink since it was quite warm outside. Can you guess the name of the establishment?

It was pretty, as well as cool inside.

My Mom always told me I would see strange things in a bar. She thought that would keep me out of them, sorry Mom.

Even a single drop of water can be entertaining, if you have a curious mind and an eye that sees.

14 responses to “June

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Where in Vegas did you stay? You got some great shots.

    Brianna Soloski
  2. Hi Bri, I stayed at the Palazzo, it was ‘very’ nice. :-)

  3. I looked at every picture.

  4. I looked at every picture too…
    I love looking up, and looking down to look up and finding trees that maybe are, maybe aren’t…and rabbits that are late thus too quick to catch on film…
    And the right spot is lushness to a tee…and thank you for the water drop Cap’n…that pleased me most of all.
    For you see I love to see that others see the things that those who never pause do not see, and that they see the wonder in something so small.

  5. Glad to see you posting again! :-) I would have gone for a walk on that path every morning, too!

    100 degrees by 9:00 a.m.? That’s my day, everyday.

    That last shot is awesome . . . my muse is already stirring.

    • I can’t wait to see what you do with the water drop, I love the way your mind interprets the world. I love hot weather, so heat doesn’t bother me. My new job takes me to AZ, NV, CO, UT, NM and WY, in addition to So Cal. I’m looking forward to experiences more of your heat. :-)

  6. How I missed you…but it was worth the wait. Loved this post. I walked with you and smiled when you did, my friend:) Thank you soo much for reminding me why I was smiling….

    • I knew you were there sweet Brynne, I took the photos as a souvenir for both of us. I know you noticed this, but Jo was there on every path we took. She did look under the trees a lot though, I think she was looking for TB’s. ;-)

  7. I didn’t realize the statute of limitations had expired in Vegas. Time does fly ;)

  8. YAY! You’re back! Celebratory rum all around? Thanks for taking us on your journeys with such wonderful pictures. I really liked the nature shots, the one “looking down to look up” reminded me of an M.C. Escher piece about a puddle, and the one where the rabbit had disappeared…did you notice the leafy pirate skull at the end of that path? ;) I think my favorite was the raven (was that the name of the bar?) although the one of the pink hibiscus was beautiful. I also really liked the one of the sun rays/red spots. It looks like you had a great time (NICE room!), although you and I are complete opposites when it comes to heat, I’m afraid. 100 degrees at 9 a.m. is my idea of hell…lol. So did you come back recharged with lots of ideas for stories and poems? :) In any case, it’s good to have ya back and thank you again for sharing your adventures with us!

    • Hey, glad you enjoyed the trip with me! I’m a big fan of M.C. Escher, maybe that’s why I like things like reflections in water. I did not see the pirate skull while I was there, thanks for pointing it out! You are correct my friend, it was the Raven, and it was a very nice bar. Best Bloody Mary I’ve tasted, ever. I actually wrote the recipe down. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

