Leaving the path   47 comments


The path is safe, for leads between
What is there and what is seen
Safe is good for those who fear
Afraid to lose what they hold dear

Path is worn for many tread
Many are who live in dread
Loss and pain from things unknown
But beauty is where wonder sown

Few would leave this path of light
Fewer still see stars at night
Wonder dwells not where it’s safe
Magic fills this wayward waif

I would leave this path behind
Seeking light I pray I find
A world unknown to thee and me
Off the path my soul is free

Image borrowed from Google images

47 responses to “Leaving the path

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These lines gave me goosebumps and filled me with hope. I prefer the path lit by stars and free of arrows pointing the way . . . better yet I love to tread where there is no path at all. :-)

    As always, your words are so inspiring and befitting of a free spirit.

  2. your words give me tears..thank you, angel John…

    • I write for you dear Brynne, and all my wonderful friends and crew. I write because I want you all to know how I feel about you, and want to share my love of words and writing with those most dear. Thank you… all of you.

      • Oh yes, you do. We/I sense your intentions and thats why I was so very moved. Your heart is so very kind and caring and open…for all of us, your crew. We are so very very blessed to have you for our Captain.

  3. It’s so nice to know another poet who takes the path “less traveled”. ;) Here’s to pirates blazing new trails!

  4. . . . he says, as he rolls the paper into the typewriter and begins his newest journey . . .

  5. Be there unicorns as well ??

  6. Unicorns for certain, as well as fairies, monsters, legends and mystery. All things fey and mysterious, dwell off well worn paths. Not just creatures though, for King Arthur, Guenevere, Gulliver, the Mad Hatter and all manner of magic dwells in forest deep and lands mysterious. Care to join me in a moonlit stroll in a magical glade?

  7. Don’t you mean “Guinevere” ???
    What about Robin Hood ?
    Minotaurs ?
    Yales?
    Wassermen?
    Kelpies?
    Bunyips?

  8. Oh yeah – and The Boys ???
    Can they come too ???

  9. Well there is only one Pegasus…now apart from those I have previosly mentioned i think these guys should also be invited…some just for the hell of it !!
    Abada
    Achiyalabopa
    Adhene
    Adroanzi
    Agathodaemon
    Ajatar
    Ajatar
    Al-mi’raj
    Aloja
    Alseid
    Amarok
    Arion
    Askefrue
    Bai Ze
    Barnacle Geese
    Boobrie
    Caddos birdes
    Capa
    Ceryneian Hind
    Cetan
    Chollima
    Cinnamon bird
    Cluricaun
    Cu Sith
    Dactyl
    Dryad
    Encantado
    Enchanted Moor
    Ewah
    Far darrig
    Fire Bird
    Freybug
    Gancanagh (definitely these guys)
    Gargouille
    Gold-digging ant
    Hamadryad
    Hippogriff
    Hobgoblin
    Ibong Adarna
    Ifrit
    Kabouter
    Mami Wata
    Negret (these could come in handy if we are there for a while)
    Nekomata
    Nekomusume
    Oozlum bird ( I just want to see this)
    Phoenix
    Pixie
    Pixiu
    Rain Bird
    Sarimanok
    Selkie
    Viruñas
    Vision Serpent
    Zlatorog
    What do the rest of the crew think ???

  10. Great poem and a terrific post, John. I love how you show the picture after the poem. In this case, especially, it makes the reader say, “Oh wow!” Perfect!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/the-sun-on-my-face/

  11. What an amazing write, I so enjoyed!

  12. Love it. Heading off the path now :-)

  13. You have such a knack for writing a perfect poem suiting your photo. It leads me to ask, which comes first the photo or the poem? :)
    A magical poem as always Cap’n, one which makes one dream.

    • Thanks Cheryl. I usually find an image I like, or that moves me in some way, then I write whatever spills out of my mind. This one though was written before I found the image. That happens about 25% of the time. :-)

  14. When the student is ready, a master’s pen can always be found!
    Perfect timing for me to come across your words Cap’n ;-D

    I would leave this path behind
    Seeking light I pray I find
    A world unknown to thee and me
    Off the path my soul is free

    Many thanks for penning & sharing them!

    • Well, I don’t think I can be the teacher, since I get sent to the Principle’s office so often, but I’m really glad you enjoyed it. :-)

      • There you go again, proving that you left “the” path and thus being able to lead the way for others…LOL!

        To have gotten the chance to cross yer path Cap’n, makes me one happy lil scarabee ;-D

        Have a helluva GREAT day my friend <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

