Subtle joy   25 comments


Wonder flows to those who seek, who see the joy in life
With open eyes and heart thrown wide, they feel but little strife
Smile is naught but twist of lips, unless it lights the eyes
Humor comes from deep within, its joy illume the skies

What joy has passed these youthful eyes, that cause her vibrant look
Simple times in simple life, yet thoughts could fill a book
With brilliant sights and words to match, she sees her world and smiles
She speaks not oft, nor says her piece, yet soul has laid the miles

Silence is a sharpened blade, she wields as subtle knife
Cutting through the toils of youth, she breaths the breath of life
Sundered be are those who cry, that she must drop this shroud
Of youth and joy and subtle things, to make her parents proud

Lips turn up in gentle smirk, she knows that magic lives
Loves them both with all her heart, their loss of sight forgives
For if she must she sees for all, the wonders of this day
Subtle be the smile within, her soul will have its say

Image borrowed from Google images

25 responses to “Subtle joy

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brilliant insight in these words, John. If we could maintain our view of the world “as a child”, what peace we would have. I often ponder when that view begins to wane. It is at much to early an age, me thinks. Great write, my man!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/the-books/

  2. You have no idea how much I needed this today, my friend. No idea. Thank you, angel.:)

  3. Once again, you’ve outdone yourself. Turn it into income and write lyrics for music. You could do it.

  4. Wonderful, as always.

    the writ and the wrote
  5. This poem leaves me feeling the same way I felt after watching a scene in the movie ‘Under the Tuscan Sun’. Katherine is drunk and tells Francis the following…
    “You know who I really love the most from all the films ? Cabiria. You remember at the end when another man has left her in the most terrible way, and she thinks it’s all over for her? Then she sees some children playing in the street, making music. And before she knows it…she’s smiling again. That’s what Fefe always said. No matter what happens…always keep your childish innocence. It’s the most important thing.”
    That speech has always touched something in me – please tell me you’ve seen the movie. It is the one thing I try to hang on to from the past while releasing all the rest…a childish innocence when looking at the world.
    But…anywho – what I want to say is this poem does the same…leaves a lump in my throat after being read

    • Jo!! Its soo wonderful to me that you posted this here! Do you know…a friend of mine sent me that movie after I moved to Mexico..because it was almost a story of my life. A divorcee writer moves to a foreign country and buys a run down house to fix up, etc…etc.. all the way down to the detail about her affair with a man named Marcelo! Same as me! Not to mention the childlike innocence part…something John shared sOOO beautifully here. I love all of these connections and how John brings them out in us, gives us to space to share, connect, grow. Thank you, John…for the beautiful love and magic you awaken in us all!!

    • Thank you Jo, that makes me a very happy Pirate. I had never heard of that movie before, I’ll have to fix that glaring error in my movie watching experience. :-)

      Thanks Brynne, I really love when you cast your light on my ship. Oh, did I mention my middle name is Marcelo….. or it will be, once I submit the name change paperwork to the court. ;-)

  6. That movie is a favourite of mine – especially the parts with Katherine. And i love the ending dialogue – that also spoke to me…
    “They say they built the train tracks over the Alps before there was a train that could make the trip.They built it anyway.They knew one day the train would come. Any arbitrary turning along the way,and I would be elsewhere. I would be different. What are four walls, anyway? They are what they contain. The house protects the dreamer. Unthinkably good things can happen, even late in the game. It’s such a surprise.”
    Oh yes I love THAT movie…

  7. Okay RWJohn, I like this piece. Sings nicely.

  8. Beautiful. And speaks to us of how we lose our childlike beauty and appreciation of the world when we build up prejudices and resentments during the course of life or allow the demands on our every day life to overwhelm us. I do Reiki healing and recently experienced the distress of the inner child of a patient of mine. He was not just crying but screaming to be heard.

  9. That child is within all of us, and should never be locked within or ignored. Thanks!

  10. if we could only capture the eyes of youth and save it for when we are old, man… what a different world we would live in. The hope ahhhh :) love this!

    my latest attempt
    http://kellieelmore.com/2012/02/06/pillow-talk/

  11. Kellie, I love the way you think. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

